General description of a typical TORNADO installation as a model

The resonant vortex TORNADO installation is a gas-dynamic mill in which the technology of cascaded adiabatic resonance impact grinding is implemented, impact velocities of which are close to a breakdown threshold. The installation is designed in a way so that any particle of the input material gets literally torn by the repeated crossing of the differential pressure zones in the intervortex vacuum chamber, which produces ultrahigh gradient (pressure drops) at the interface (up to hundreds of thousands atmospheres). When the material is injected into such area of pressure differential, a rupture of the material’s structure and clusters occurs. Such mechanism can be compared to the mechanism of material’s sample destruction, which is done in order to determine its strength characteristics at tensile test plants. That is, the grinding occurs not due to the friction or any other mechanic force, but by “air” and resonances, which provide a high and efficient performance, great flow rate of raw material as well as inexpensive exploitation (no rubbing parts) with low power consumption.

Фото вихрей (четыре) и зон разряжения (темные) в камере «Торнадо»

Photo of the vortices (four) and discharge zones (dark) in the chamber “Tornado”

As an energy carrier (fuel) may be used:

  • pressurized air (compressor or a turbine);
  • any inert gas supplied under pressure such as argon;
  • high-pressure steam (superheated steam);
  • Energy gas generated by a free piston engines;
  • Supercritical media (fluids), (CO2) for instance;

A new technology is being used inside the resonance vortex mills, a non-contact material grinding, where the grinding processes are performed by means of an air vortex, artificially produced in an enclosed space within the processing chamber.

The equipment is based on the resonance vortex grinding technology, which allows the grinding of any material, from wheat grain to diamonds. The phenomenon of crushing materials of any hardness is possible due to the occurring of pressure gradient zones in the vortex mill that ammount up to hundreds of thousands of atm’s, the generation of multi-stage resonance, and the impact of particles. These effects are similar to those developed in an air tornado column created by nature.

The second (resonance) grinding mechanism is related to the generation of undulating vibrations with a frequency ranging from sonic to hyper-sonic (100 MHz and higher). In such a wide spectrum of vibrations for the grinding of the material particles of any size, a frequency is found equal to the resonance frequency of a particle. This mechanism is able to carry out the grinding to ultra-fine pieces, measured in hundredths and thousandths of microns (0.01-0.001 microns).

The third (impact) material grinding mechanism is mutual particle impact. At resonance vortex mills, particle impact brings an insignificant contribution to the process of material breakdown. At the currently widespread torsion (blast) mills (Japanese production, for example), this mechanism is essential, however their performance and capabilities are inferior compared to the “Tornado”.

Comparison with jet mills

By the principle of functioning, jet mills are not analogous to gasdynamic vortex mills, and have a specific energy consumption of 20-70 kW*h/t of grinded material, which is comparable to the figure (according to manufacturer) of Tornado -30-75 kWh/t for the same fineness of grind. However, it must be noted that the cost – 75 kW/h, indicated in the catalogue, is estimated in accordance with the power of the compressor Keiser (Germany) the performance of which is 11-13 cubic meters/min at a pressure of 9-11 bar (modes). In reality, such capacity is enough to sustain 2 Tornado installations with a 350 mm processing chamber, since the actual consumption is 6 cubic meters/min for 1 cell at a pressure of 6 bar. Thus, at the capacity of a given compressor, 2 Tornado installations can function simultaneously or even 4 if in rotation. In addition to all – 75 kW*h is the maximum mode of air discharge at receivers (2 in Prague), which allows low-cost mode functioning synchronously with the dispenser when the Compressor supplies the receivers in isolation and spends only 15-25 kWh. The performance of jet mills varies from 50 kg/h to 1.5 t/h. The performance of the gas-dynamic Tornado jet mill varies from 100 kg/h (diamonds) to 3 t/h (biomass) in the working chamber of 350 mm. The performance of steam mills operating on coal and cement is excepted. Their performance may reach up to 10 t/h or more, but they are not suitable for producing ultrafine dry grinding.

The Tornado installations are scalable, all the data provided by  the presentations and the website is applicable to a typical installation with the processing chamber of 350 mm, if necessary, the processing chamber can be increased to 750 mm or 1000 mm, which dramatically increases the air consumption. For instance, the 750 mm chamber requires 35-40 cubic meters/min, which must be determined by the characteristics of the material and the need. In many cases, it is cheaper to install one Tornado installation and equip it with 2-3-4 processing chambers under one type of Keiser compressor for homogeneous material, or if required (grinding rocks, for instance) to produce a two or three-stage setup, where each chamber with resonances would fulfil its tasks.

Parameters

If for torsion (blast) mills, the use of compressed air at pressures of 0.7-1.4 MPa is common, then in a vortex “Tornado”mill the same effect is achieved with 0.2-0.6 MPa, which significantly reduces the costs and allows to obtain a very fine powder that cannot be obtained by any other method. Due to adiabatic expansion there is a decrease in the temperature of the functioning medium within the processing chamber of the Tornado, which allows the prevention of local heating and thermal degradation of the grinded material. The grinding chamber of a Tornado does not contain any rotating or moving parts, which significantly increases its service life, simplifies its construction, facilitates maintenance and its cleaning when replacing the input material that is grinded, which helps in avoiding impurities of the finished product.

The constructive solutions applied in the creation of the equipment provide a significant reduction in electricity cost for powder production, as in comparison with vaguely similar analogies.

The “Tornado” installations have different modifications for different types or groups of materials, as well as various performances. They are equipped with an ICS and a spare processing chamber with a set of resonators for various purposes.

Table 1. Characteristics and the typical “Tornado” installations with a 350mm processing chamber.

tabl

* Note: The performance calculations are based on the parameters of the air compressor made by the firm Keyser (Germany): 9-12 m cube/min, 9 bar, class 2/2 air, dew point – 40°C. If a higher performance is required, an individual installation project must be completed on the basis of task terms. In case of additional questions on design, contact the technical Department of the company TORtec ltd.: info@tornado.co.com

kompressor
huliy_en

Общее описание типовой установки ТОРНАДО как модели

Резонансно-вихревая установка ТОРНАДО – это газодинамический измельчитель, в котором реализовано каскадное адиабатно-резонансно-ударное измельчение при скоростях соударений, близких к порогу разрушения. Установка сконструирована таким образом, что любые частицы входного материала буквально разрываются при многократном пересечении зон перепада давления в вихрях и межвихревыми вакуумными нитями, на границе существования которых возникает сверхвысокий градиент (перепад) давлений (до сотен тысяч атмосфер). При попадании в зону такого перепада давлений происходит разрыв структур и кластеров материала, механизм которого можно сравнить с механизмом разрушения образца материала при определении его прочностных характеристик в механических испытательных установках на разрыв. То есть измельчение происходит не за счет силы трения и пр. механик, а условно «воздухом» и резонансами, что дает высочайшую производительность, скорость потоков сырья и эффективность с низкой себестоимостью и энергозатратами (нет трущихся частей).

Фото вихрей (четыре) и зон разряжения (темные) в камере «Торнадо»

Фото вихрей (четыре) и зон разряжения (темные) в камере «Торнадо»

В качестве энергоносителя (рабочей среды измельчителя) может использоваться:

 — воздух, подаваемый под давлением (компрессор, турбина)

 — какой-либо инертный газ, подаваемый под давлением, например аргон

 — пар высокого давления (перегретый пар)

 — энергетический газ, вырабатываемый свободнопоршневым двигателем носители в сверхкритическом состоянии (флюиды), например (СО2).

В резонансно-вихревом измельчителе применяется новая технология бесконтактного измельчения материалов, по которой процессы измельчения осуществляются благодаря воздушным смерчам, искусственно создаваемым в замкнутом объеме технологической камеры вихревого измельчителя.

Оборудование, созданное на основе технологии резонансно-вихревого измельчения, позволяет измельчать любой материал – от жидкостей, пшеничного зерна до алмаза. Эффект разрушения материалов любой твердости обусловлен созданием в вихревом измельчителе зон с градиентом давлений до сотен тысяч атмосфер, возникновением многокаскадного резонанса и соударением частиц. Эти явления аналогичны тем, которые возникают в воздушной среде смерчевого столба, создаваемого природой.

Второй (резонансный) механизм измельчения связан с генерацией в измельчителе волновых колебаний с диапазоном частот от звуковых до гиперзвуковых (100 МГц и выше). В столь широком спектре колебаний для частичек измельчаемого материала любого размера найдется частота, равная резонансной частоте частички. Этот механизм в состоянии произвести измельчение до супер мелких фракций, измеряемых в сотых и тысячных долях микрона (0,01-0,001 мкм).

Третий (ударный) механизм измельчения материала – взаимное соударение частиц. В резонансно-вихревых измельчителях соударение частиц вносит незначительный вклад в процесс разрушения материалов. В широко распространенных в настоящее время торсионных (струйных) мельницах (например, японского производства) этот механизм является основным, но уступает по эффективности и возможностям «Торнадо».

Сравнение со струйными мельницами

Струйные мельницы по принципу действия не являются аналогом газодинамических вихревых мельниц и имеют удельный расход электроэнергии порядка 20-70 кВт*ч/т измельченного сырья, что сопоставимо с аналогичным показателем (по данным изготовителя) мельницы Торнадо-30-75 кВт*ч/т при одинаковой тонине помола. Но необходимо учесть, что затраты  75 кВт/час установлены в справочниках от мощности компрессора Кейзер (Германия) производительностью 11-13 куб./минуту при давлении 9-11 бар (режимы). В действительности этой мощности хватает на 2 установки Торнадо с рабочей камерой 350 мм, так как действительное потребление составляет 6 куб м/мин на 1 камеру при давлении 6 бар. Таким образом, на установленную мощность данного компрессора могут одновременно работать 2 установки Торнадо или попеременно до 4 установок. Дополнительно ко всему — 75 кВт*ч — максимальный режим при нагнетании воздуха в ресиверы (в Праге их 2), что позволяет работать на экономичных режимах синхронно с дозатором, когда Компрессор работает только на подкачку ресиверов и затрачивает для этого только 15-25 кВт*ч. Производительность струйных мельниц составляет  от 50 кг/ч до 1,5 т/ч. Производительность газодинамической вихревой мельницы Торнадо составляет 100 кг/ч (алмазы) до   3 т/ч (биомассы) при рабочей камере 350 мм. Исключение по производительности составляют пароструйные мельницы, работающие по углю и цементу. Их производительность может составлять 10 т/ч и более, но для поставленных целей сверхтонкого сухого помола они не пригодны. Установки Торнадо масштабируемы, все данные в презентациях и на сайте приведены для типовой установки с рабочей камерой 350 мм, а при необходимости рабочая камера может быть увеличена до 750 мм или до 1000 мм, что резко ведет к увеличению потребления воздуха. Например, камера 750 мм требует 35-40 кубометров/мин, что должно определяться спецификой материала и потребностью. Во многих случаях дешевле одну установку Торнадо комплектовать 2-3-4 рабочими камерами под тип одного компрессора Кейзер и однородный материал, либо под цели (горные породы) изготавливать двух- трехкаскадные установки, где каждая камера с резонансами выполняет свои задачи.

Параметры

Если для торсионных (струйных) измельчителей характерно использование сжатого воздуха при давлениях 0.7-1.4 Мпа, то в вихревом измельчителе «Торнадо» аналогичный эффект достигается при 0.2-0.6 Мпа, что существенно снижает затраты и позволяет получать особо тонкие порошки, которые не могут быть получены другими методами.

Вследствие адиабатического расширения возникает снижение температуры рабочей среды в рабочей камере Торнадо, что позволяет не допускать локального разогрева и термодеструкции материала, который измельчается.

Камера измельчения Торнадо не содержит вращающихся и трущихся деталей, что значительно увеличивает срок ее службы, упрощает ее конструкцию, облегчает техобслуживание и очистку при смене входного материала для измельчения и позволяет избежать намола посторонних примесей в готовый продукт.

Конструктивные решения, примененные при создании оборудования, обеспечивают значительное сокращение затрат электроэнергии на производство порошков по сравнению с отдаленно схожими аналогами.

Установки «Торнадо» имеют различные модификации под различные виды или группы материалов, как и различную производительность и оснащаются АСУ и запасной рабочей камерой и комплектом резонаторов под различные цели.

Таблица 1. Характеристики и типовые установки «Торнадо» с раб. камерой 350 мм

tabl

*Примечание: Расчеты производительности даны исходя из параметров воздушного компрессора фирмы Кейзер (Германия): 9-12 м куб./мин, 9 атмосфер, класс воздуха 2/2, точка росы — 40°С. При потребности большей производительности, необходим индивидуальный проект установки, исходя из технического задания. С вопросами по проектированию обращаться в технический отдел компании TORtec ltd.: info@tornado.co.com

tabl_03

huliy